top of page
East of Underground - East of Underground Vinyl LP

East of Underground East of Underground Vinyl LP


In 1971, in the midst of America's conflict in Vietnam, the U.S. Army held a show-band contest and showcased the two winning bands in a promotional album. East of Underground, the gritty runner-up, managed to capture the spirit of America with their sweet-soul covers of Sly Stone, Curtis Mayfield, and Funkadelic.


The quality of the recording is superior, as is the musicianship: the falsetto harmonies, the gritty guitar, the devouring drums. But song choice is just as responsible for the success of the album.


Unlike other obscure-funk reissues and compilations, East of Underground is immediately familiar, instantly gratifying, and endlessly playable. And especially poignant today.


East of Underground East of Underground Track Listing:


1. I Want To Take You Higher
2. Smiling Faces Sometimes
3. (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below, We're All Going To Go
4. People Get Ready
5. Getting Over
6. I'll Bet You / California Dreamin'
7. Written-By – George Clinton, John Phillips, Michelle Phillips, Sidney Barnes, Theresa Popcorn / Oye Como Va
8. I Love You For All Seasons
9. East Of Java
10. Walk On By

East of Underground - East of Underground Vinyl LP

SKU: 0659457522315
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page