top of page
France Gall - 1968 Vinyl LP

France Gall 1968 Vinyl LP


Third Man Records presents three reissues of albums by France Gall, marking the first North American vinyl pressings of Poupée de Cire, Poupée de Son (1965), Baby Pop (1966) and 1968 (1968). Gall was a prolific French vocalist and performer, remembered as one of the central figures of the 1960s yé-yé pop movement.


Aligning catchy, spirited rhythms with lighthearted lyrics and drawing from the beat music a la early Beatles and Hollies, the yé-yé artists promoted a sort of new freedom of expression and breaking down of social barriers in post-WWII France. 


Without a doubt this is the weirdest France Gall record. 1968 dives further into the psychedelia that she was hinting at on Baby Pop. Even with addition of sitars and echoes of The Beatles, The Stones, The Kinks and Pet Sounds era Beach Boys all over this record it is still 100% French and could only have been made by France Gall.


The addition of English expat producer/arranger, David Whitaker, brought a new and welcome airiness to the mix that was lacking on Gall's earlier recordings. The album contains two of Serge Gainsbourg's strangest and most out there arrangements, "Nefertiti" and "Teenie Weenie Boppie" about an LSD trip gone horribly wrong. 1968 is an absolutely essential addition to any record collection.


France Gall 1968 Track Listing:


1. Toi Que Je Veux
2. Chanson Indienne
3. Gare À Toi... Gargantua
4. Avant La Bagarre
5. Chanson Pour Que Tu M'Aimes Un Peu
6. Nefertiti
7. La Fille D'Un Garçon
8. Bébé Requin
9. Teenie Weenie Boppie
10. Les Yeux Bleus
11. Made In France
12. La Petite

France Gall - 1968 Vinyl LP

SKU: 0600753091623
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page