top of page
Frank Zappa - 200 Motels OMP Soundtrack 50th Anni 180g Vinyl 2LP

Frank Zappa 200 Motels OMP Soundtrack 50th Anni 180g Vinyl 2LP 


50th Anniversary 180g Vinyl 2LP Reissue Newly Remastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering and Pressed at Optimal in Germany; All Original Packaging including Booklet and Poster


200 Motels turns 50! In celebration of Frank Zappa's famous 1971 "Surrealistic Documentary," Zappa Records, UMe and MGM are pleased to present the original soundtrack, a double album set featuring all original packaging including the booklet and poster and brand new remastering by legend Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. Pressed on 180g vinyl by Optimal Media in Germany.


Released in October 1971, 200 Motels was a miraculous feat, a cinematic collision of the venerated musician and composer's kaleidoscopic musical and visual worlds that brought together Zappa and his band, The Mothers, Ringo Starr as Zappa – as "a large dwarf" – Keith Moon as a perverted nun, Pamela Des Barres in her acting debut, noted thespian Theodore Bikel, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, and an incredible assortment of characters (both on screen and off) for a "surrealistic documentary" about the bizarre life of a touring musician.


A heady, psychedelic stew of low and high brow art forms, the film, written by Zappa and co-directed by him and Tony Palmer, mixed together irreverent comedic skits, madcap satire, eye-popping animation and virtuosic on-screen musical performances from both The Mothers and the RPO for a fascinating and free-wheeling multimedia extravaganza.


Shot in just 10 days with a budget of around $650,000 from distributor United Artists, 200 Motels was one of the first movies to be filmed entirely on videotape and Zappa and crew pushed the envelope of the burgeoning new medium's possibilities, mostly notably through its use of spectacular – and at the time – state-of-the-art visual effects.


Described by Zappa as "at once a reportage of real events and an extrapolation of them... other elements include ‘conceptual by-products' of the extrapolated ‘real event' ... In some ways the contents of the film are autobiographical," 200 Motels was hailed by the Los Angeles Times as a "a stunning achievement" with "just the right touch of insanity," and the "Zaniest piece of filmusical fantasy-comedy since The Beatles' ‘A Hard Day's Night" by Daily Variety.


The music, and its corresponding soundtrack, was equally diverse, a wild pastiche of avant garde rock and orchestral compositions interspersed with dialog from the film. Up until that time, compositions like the finale piece, "Strictly Genteel," were some of the most ambitious material ever written and recorded by Zappa.


The band in the film and on the soundtrack consisted of Zappa (guitar & bass), Mark Volman (vocals & special material), Howard Kaylan (vocals & special material), Ian Underwood (keyboards & winds), Aynsley Dunbar (drums), George Duke (keyboards & trombone), Martin Lickert (bass), Jimmy Carl Black (vocals), and Ruth Underwood (orchestra drum set), not to mention the aforementioned Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.


Frank Zappa 200 Motels Track Listing:




1. Semi-Fraudulent / Direct-From-Hollywood Overture
2. Mystery Roach
3. Dance Of The Rock & Roll Interviewers
4. This Town Is A Sealed Tuna Sandwich (Prologue)
5. Tuna Fish Promenade
6. Dance Of The Just Plain Folks
7. This Town Is A Sealed Tuna Sandwich (Reprise)
8. The Sealed Tuna Bolero
9. Lonesome Cowboy Burt
10. Touring Can Make You Crazy
11. Would You Like A Snack?
12. Redneck Eats
13. Centerville
14. She Painted Up Her Face
15. Janet's Big Dance Number
16. Half A Dozen Provocative Squats
17. Mysterioso
18. Shove It Right In
19. Lucy's Seduction Of A Bored Violinist & Postlude




1. I'm Stealing The Towels
2. Dental Hygiene Dilemma
3. Does This Kind Of Life Look Interesting To You?
4. Daddy, Daddy, Daddy
5. Penis Dimension
6. What Will This Evening Bring Me This Morning
7. A Nun Suit Painted On Some Old Boxes
8. Magic Fingers
9. Motorhead's Midnight Ranch
10. Dew On The Newts We Got
11. The Lad Searches The Night For His Newts
12. The Girl Wants To Fix Him Some Broth
13. The Girl's Dream
14. Little Green Scratchy Sweaters & Courduroy Ponce
15. Strictly Genteel (The Finale)

Frank Zappa - 200 Motels OMP Soundtrack 50th Anni 180g Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 602438384044
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page