top of page
Ghost Opus Eponymous Colored Vinyl LP

Ghost Opus Eponymous Colored Vinyl LP


Mix Of '60s Psych, '70s Doom & '80s New Wave British Heavy Metal! Turquoise Sparkle Vinyl


Swedish rock band Ghost's 2010 debut studio album Opus Eponymous is still considered to be the group's finest moment, and was nominated for a 2011 Grammis Award (the Swedish equivalent to the Grammy Awards) in the Best Hard Rock category.


A band rife with contradictions, Ghost (known as Ghost B.C. in the United States) preach extreme satanic viewpoints over surprisingly accessible heavy metal cum pop-driven hard rock.


The bandmembers maintain a strict vow of anonymity, both on record and on-stage; they obscure themselves under monks' cowls, except for their lead singer, known only as Papa Emeritus (there have been three, each supposedly younger than the last and denoted by a successive Roman numeral, though it's the same singer).


His appearance, synonymous with the band's image, is instantly recognizable with skull-faced makeup, cardinal robes, miter and thurible; his image is that of an anti-Pope.


Formed in 2008 in Linköping, Ghost began playing underground shows and sharpening their sound. Given their occult ritual-styled performances, their popularity with metal fans in their home country flourished. In 2010, they issued a three-track demo, followed by the single "Elizabeth", and both quickly sold out.


Their debut album, Opus Eponymous, on Rise Above Limited, defied expectations with a surprisingly welcoming melodic sound, weaving together '60s psychedelia, '70s doom, and '80s New Wave of British Heavy Metal, and their reputation spread.


They took to the road, touring internationally. They were forced to take the Ghost B.C. moniker in the U.S. because another band had laid claim to the name. Though it was a tad confusing, it didn't hurt their reputation for wildly theatrical performances, and their identities remained cloaked in mystery. After a long legal battle, they won the right to their name without the suffix.


Ghost Opus Eponymous Track Listing:


1. Deus Culpa
2. Con Clavi Con Dio
3. Ritual
4. Elizabeth
5. Stand By Him
6. Satan Prayer
7. Death Knell
8. Prime Mover
9. Genesis

Ghost Opus Eponymous Colored Vinyl LP

SKU: 196626154224
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page