top of page
John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth 180g Vinyl 2LP

John Lennon Gimme Some Truth 180g Vinyl 2LP


Definitive Best-Of Collection featuring 19 songs Tracing the Arc of Lennon's Post-Beatles Life and Career; Audio Completely Remixed Using Brand-New Transfers of the Original Multi-Tracks and Mastered in Analog at Abbey Road Studios


In everything he did, John Lennon spoke his truth and questioned the truth. An incomparable and uncompromising artist who strove for honesty and directness in his music, he laid bare his heart, mind and soul in his songs, seeing them as snapshots of his current emotions, thoughts and world view.


Believing the one quality demanded of himself as an artist was to be completely honest, he did not disguise what he had to say or conform his messages to be more in line with what he felt others thought they should be.


Love, heartbreak, peace, politics, truth, lies, the media, racism, feminism, religion, mental well-being, marriage, fatherhood – he sang about it all, and one just needs to listen to the songs of John Lennon to know how he felt, what he cherished, what he believed in, and what he stood for.


In celebration of John Lennon's remarkable life, Gimme Some Truth: The Ultimate Mixes assembles some of the most vital and best loved songs from his solo career. Executive produced by Yoko Ono Lennon and produced by Sean Ono Lennon, these 19 songs, handpicked by Yoko and Sean, have all been completely remixed from scratch, radically upgrading their sonic quality and presenting them as a never-before-heard ultimate listening experience.


After weeks of painstaking preparation, the final mixes and effects were completed using only vintage analog equipment and effects at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles, and then mastered in analog at Abbey Road Studios by Alex Wharton in order to ensure the most beautiful and authentic sound quality possible.


Gimme Some Truth traces the arc of Lennon's post-Beatles life and career, bringing together songs from all of his revered solo albums including John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band (1970), Imagine (1971), Some Time In New York City (1972), Mind Games (1973), Walls and Bridges (1974), Rock 'n' Roll (1975), Double Fantasy (1980) and 1984's posthumous Milk and Honey.


The collection is bookended with his early non-album singles, kicking off with the one-two punch of "Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)," Lennon's exuberant exhortation about the karmic forces of action/reaction and equality ("we all shine on like the moon and the stars and the sun"), and the electrifying addiction-themed "Cold Turkey," and culminating with the holiday classic "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)" and the anti-war protest anthem "Give Peace A Chance," with its ubiquitous, titular call to action: "All we are saying is Give Peace A Chance."


When listened to in sequence, Gimme Some Truth: The Ultimate Mixes plays both like one of the greatest-ever live Lennon concerts and an emotional telling of his life story, from just after the breakup of The Beatles, to falling in love and marrying Yoko, his peace activism, personal soul-searching, inspiration, celebration, confusion, reunion, fatherhood, his five-year break from music while raising Sean, and his triumphant return into the '80s with two new albums.


John Lennon Gimme Some Truth Track Listing:




1. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
2. Cold Turkey
3. Isolation
4. Power To The People
5. Imagine
6. Jealous Guy
7. Gimme Some Truth
8. Come Together (Live)
9. #9 Dream




1. Mind Games
2. Whatever Gets You Thru The Night
3. Stand By Me
4. (Just Like) Starting Over
5. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
6. Watching The Wheels
7. Woman
8. Grow Old With Me
9. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
10. Give Peace A Chance

John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth 180g Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0602435001869
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page