top of page
Marvin Gaye What's Going On (50th Anniversary) 180g Vinyl 2LP

Marvin Gaye What's Going On (50th Anniversary) 180g Vinyl 2LP


Direct-To-Analog Mastering From The Original Tape Reels By Kevin Gray


This premium vinyl release features direct-to-analog mastering from the original primary album tape reels by acclaimed engineer Kevin Gray, one of the first times this has been done since 1971, offering an undeniably authentic listening experience.


What's Going On: 50th Anniversary 2LP Edition bonus LP opens up the album's writing and production palette. Featured are four rare cuts making their vinyl debut, highlighted by a previously unreleased "stripped" version of the title song, plus all six original mono single mixes and their B-sides, with all of those 7" versions on vinyl for the first time since their original releases.


With two 180g records, a tip-on heavy stock jacket, an original gatefold with complete lyrics, this formidable release also includes printed sleeves with track details, a rare image from the cover sessions, and a brief essay honoring arranger David Van De Pitte.


The main essay was written by acclaimed author and poet Hanif Abdurraqib who was just named one of the 25 recipients of the 2021 MacArthur "Genius" Grant.


Marvin Gaye What's Going On Track Listing:




(Original Album)
1. What's Going On
2. What's Happening Brother
3. Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky)
4. Save The Children
5. God Is Love
6. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
7. Right On
8. Wholy Holy
9. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)




(Bonus Tracks)
1. What's Going On - Stripped Version (Previously Unreleased)
2. What's Going On (Mix 1/No Strings or Horns)
3. What's Going On - rhythm & strings instrumental mix
4. Symphony (Demo)
5. What's Going On (Original Mono Single Mix)
6. God Is Love (Original Mono Single Mix)
7. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) [Original Mono Single Mix]
8. Sad Tomorrows (Original Mono Single Mix)
9. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) [Original Mono Single Mix]
10. Wholy Holy (Original Mono Single Mix)

Marvin Gaye What's Going On (50th Anniversary) 180g Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 602435584171
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page