top of page
Megadeth - Countdown To Extinction Picture Disc Vinyl LP

Megadeth Countdown To Extinction Picture Disc Vinyl LP


Universal Enterprises (UMe) will issue the first five platinum-selling Capitol Records Megadeth albums on picture disc vinyl for the first time in the U.S. Titles include Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?, So Far, So Good…So What!,


Rust In Peace, Countdown To Extinction and Youthanasia. Each album is pressed on heavyweight vinyl and will feature the remastered mixes by Dave Mustaine with the original album track listings. 


Mustaine pioneered the hugely successful Megadeth after his departure from Metallica. Beginning with the band's 1985 debut album, Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good!, and evolving through a shifting series of lineups, Megadeth has crafted a dynamic, intelligent style that combines the aggressiveness of thrash metal, the improvisational nature of jazz, and cynical, articulate, politically-charged lyrics into an innovative mix that has built a rabid worldwide following.


Megadeth’s fifth studio album, Countdown to Extinction was recorded in Los Angeles in 1992. American tensions weren’t limited to LA, as the Gulf War was still fresh in people’s minds, the state of the environment was becoming headline news, and out of this turmoil, Megadeth was inspired to create Countdown to Extinction, considered by many to be the band’s best and most accessible album. None of their previous records were as polemical as the sonic missiles launched by Countdown. 


Mustaine laced the songs with acid-tongued commentary about subjects ranging from the futility of war (“Architecture of Aggression”) to the senseless brutality of caged hunting (“Countdown to Extinction”). “Foreclosure of a Dream” sampled George Bush’s infamous “Read my lips” speech, making a statement about taxation endangering the American Dream.


Thanks to a perfect balance of hard-rock song structures, epic choruses, and fleet-fingered guitar work, Countdown to Extinction became an instant classic, benefiting from copious MTV and radio play. 


Megadeth Countdown To Extinction Track Listing:


1.  Skin O' My Teeth
2.  Symphony Of Destruction
3.  Architecture Of Aggression
4.  Foreclosure Of A Dream
5.  Sweating Bullets
6.  This Was My Life
7.  Countdown To Extinction
8.  High Speed Dirt
9.  Psychotron
10. Captive Honour
11. Ashes In Your Mouth

Megadeth - Countdown To Extinction Picture Disc Vinyl LP

SKU: 602537976478
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page