top of page
MGMT - MGMT 180g Vinyl LP + Download

MGMT MGMT 180g Vinyl LP + Download


Cosmic forces were at work when MGMT's co-founders, Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser met over ten years ago at Wesleyan University. Drawn together by a mutual love of mystic paganism, the duo signed to Columbia Records in the eve of 2006. On a mission to sprinkle the music industry with weirdness and unpredictability the band delivered their debut album Oracular Spectacular in 2008.


The record garnered the band three Grammy nominations, along with numerous accolades across the globe, including landing at #18 on Rolling Stone magazine's Top 100 albums of the decade. 


2010's Congratulations was conceived even before Oracular Spectacular's release! The "musically adventurous" eclectic mixture of tracks may have sounded a little confusing to some, but that's only because MGMT's unconventional pop structures reflect the chaotic vibrations of the world - and who can realistically make sense of that? Congratulations debuted at #2 on the US Billboard 200 and #4 in the UK, going on to become one of the most talked about albums of the past decade. 


Now MGMT is back with their self-titled third studio album which finds VanWyngarden and Goldwasser continuing to push themselves to expand the boundaries of modern pop music. Returning to Tarbox Road Studios to work with longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann (co-producer and mixer of Oracular Spectacular and Congratulations, The Flaming Lips, Tame Impala), the duo experimented with various in-studio writing processes, allowing the music to tell them where it wanted to go. 


The result is a diverse and powerful collection of 10 songs (including a cover of "Introspection" by 1960’s psych band Faine Jade) that directly mirrors the duo's encompassing surrealist view of the everyday. Album opener "Alien Days," has been hailed as an instant MGMT classic by fans and described by Rolling Stone as a “shimmering, psychedelic soundscape” and Spin as “a sumptuously detailed, exquisitely zonked- out space-rock construction.”


MGMT MGMT Track Listing:


1.  Alien Days
2.  Cool Song No. 2
3.  Mystery Disease
4.  Introspection
5.  Your Life Is a Lie
6.  A Good Sadness
7.  Astro-Mancy
8.  I Love You Too, Death
9.  Plenty Of Girls In the Sea
10. An Orphan Of Fortune

MGMT - MGMT 180g Vinyl LP + Download

SKU: 0888837601511
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page