top of page
Primus - Pork Soda 180g Vinyl 2LP

Primus Pork Soda 180g Vinyl 2LP


180g 2LP Set Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes for Superb Sound: Primus' 1993 Album Pork Soda Features "My Name Is Mud" and Les Claypool's Unique Bass Playing


Led by musical genius and renowned world-class bassist Les Claypool, Primus offered up a fantastic, colorful journey through demented novelty compositions and preposterous instrumental rollercoasters that take The Residents' and Frank Zappa's blueprints to the most bizarre heights. The results are a unique form of psycho jazz, bass-oriented metal and alt-rock psychedelia.


Along with 1990's Frizzle Fry and the following year's, Sailing The Seas Of Cheese, 1993's Pork Soda is among the group's most defining records. One of the most unique albums to ever debut in the Top Ten, the platinum-certified effort is home to the all-time classic "My Name is Mud," with Claypool's slap bass at its finest.


"Pork Soda was the first straight-up Ler, Herb, and Les record," Claypool told Consequence Of Sound. "Even Sailing the Seas of Cheese had some songs that Todd and Jay Lane had helped with. It's a little darker, heavier. That was the beginning of our really DIY recording.


We recorded that in our rehearsal space, and we had our sound man do it. That album went platinum, but it took four years. We were always the slow-burn guys; we were the guys called "the catalog band." We didn't come out and Pearl Jam-it and sell a gazillion records right out the gate."


Primus Pork Soda Track Listing:


1. Pork Chop's Little Ditty
2. My Name Is Mud
3. Welcome to This World
4. Bob
5. DMV
6. The Ol' Diamondback Sturgeon (Fisherman's Chronicles, Pt. 3)
7. Nature Boy
8. Wounded Knee
9. Pork Soda
10. The Pressman
11. Mr. Krinkle
12. The Air Is Getting Slippery
13. Hamburger Train
14. Pork Chop's Little Ditty
15. Hail Santa

Primus - Pork Soda 180g Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0602557414400
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page