top of page
Rhiannon Giddens - There Is No Other Vinyl 2LP

Rhiannon Giddens There Is No Other Vinyl 2LP


Rhiannon Giddens's latest album, There Is No Other - recorded with Italian multi-instrumentalist Francesco Turrisi - was produced by Joe Henry and tracked over an intensely productive five-day period in Dublin, Ireland. There Is No Other is at once a condemnation of "othering" and a celebration of the spread of ideas, connectivity, and shared experience.


Tracing the overlooked movement of sounds from Africa and the Arabic world and their influence on European and American music, There Is No Other illuminates the universality of music and the commonality of the human experience. It primarily features only Giddens and Turrisi playing one or two instruments together.


The album comprises a mix of original songs penned by Giddens and a diverse set of interpretations ranging from Ola Belle Reed's "I'm Gonna Write Me a Letter" and Oscar Brown, Jr.'s "Brown Baby" to the Italian traditional "Pizzica di San Vito" to the aria "Black Swan" by Gian-Carlo Menotti.

There Is No Other was recorded with little editing and overdubbing. Giddens sings and plays minstrel banjo, octave violin, and viola. Turrisi plays piano, accordion, frame drum, tamburello, lute, cello banjo, daf, and colascione.


They are joined on four songs by Kate Ellis on cello. The array of instruments reveal the sonic ties that bind between African, Arabic, European, and American cultures.


Rhiannon Giddens There Is No Other Track Listing:




1. Ten Thousand Voices (with Francesco Turrisi)
2. Gonna Write Me a Letter (with Francesco Turrisi)
3. Wayfaring Stranger (with Francesco Turrisi)
4. There Is No Other (with Francesco Turrisi)
5. Trees on the Mountains (with Francesco Turrisi)
6. Pizzica di San Vito (with Francesco Turrisi)
7. Brown Baby (with Francesco Turrisi)
8. Briggs' Forró (with Francesco Turrisi)




1. Little Margaret (with Francesco Turrisi)
2. Black Swan (with Francesco Turrisi)
3. I'm On My Way (with Francesco Turrisi)
4. He Will See You Through (with Francesco Turrisi)
5. Hard Times/Camptown Hornpipe (with Francesco Turrisi)
6. Beth Cohen's Set (with Francesco Turrisi)
7. Spiritual (with Francesco Turrisi)
8. As You Wish (with Francesco Turrisi)

Rhiannon Giddens - There Is No Other Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0075597924718
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page