top of page
Steve Earle & The Dukes - Terraplane Colored 180g Vinyl LP

Steve Earle & The Dukes Terraplane Colored 180g Vinyl LP


Steve Earle & The Dukes are set to release the new album Terraplane in February 2015 via New West Records.


The 11-track effort follows-up 2013's The Low Highway and features Earle alongside his longtime band The Dukes, comprised of Kelly Looney, Will Rigby, Chris Masterson and Eleanor Whitmore. The album was produced by R.S. Field (Buddy Guy, John Mayall), engineered by Earle’s production partner Ray Kennedy and recorded at House of Blues Studio D in Nashville, TN. 


Terraplane takes its title from the 1930s Hudson Motor Car Company of Detroit model, which also inspired the Robert Johnson song “Terraplane Blues.” It is Earle’s sixteenth studio album since the release of his highly influential 1986 debut Guitar Town. As its title suggests, the album is very much a blues record, a third of which was written while Earle toured Europe alone for five weeks with just a guitar, a mandolin and a backpack. 


Earle, who was raised outside of San Antonio before migrating to Houston, offers about Texas blues, “There was Fort Worth where the model was Freddy King, and there was the Houston scene which was dominated by Lightnin’ Hopkins. Two very different styles.” He saw both of these giants, and was also exposed to Johnny Winter, Jimmy and Stevie Ray Vaughn, and Billy Gibbons, all of which make their influence heard here within Earle’s masterful storytelling.


Earle states in the Terraplane album liner notes, “...the blues are anything but superficial. In fact, they run so deep and dark and close to the bone that folks walk around everyday with the blues as though it were perfectly natural for a human being to go on living with a broken heart (apologies to Tony Kushner). 


Steve Earle And The Dukes Terraplane Track Listing:  


1.  Baby Baby Baby (Baby)
2.  You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had
3.  The Tennessee Kid
4.  Ain’t Nobody’s Daddy Now
5.  Better Off Alone
6.  The Usual Time
7.  Go Go Boots Are Back
8.  Acquainted With The Wind
9.  Baby’s Just As Mean As Me
10. Gamblin’ Blues
11. King Of The Blues     

Steve Earle & The Dukes - Terraplane Colored 180g Vinyl LP

SKU: 0607396555512
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page