top of page
Sublime - 40oz. To Freedom Vinyl 2LP

Sublime 40oz. To Freedom Vinyl 2LP


Iconic Long Beach, CA reggae-punk/alternative-rock band Sublime was founded in 1988 by Bradley Nowell (vocals/guitar), Eric Wilson (bass/vocals) and Bud Gaugh (drums). Their self-produced debut 40 oz. to Freedom was released in 1992 via the band's label Skunk Records and has subsequently been certified double platinum. The classic double album is home to such radio hits as "Date Rape" and "Badfish," plus the band's stylized covers of the Grateful Dead's "Scarlet Begonias," The Toyes' "Smoke Two Joints," Bad Religion's "We're Only Gonna Die for Our Arrogance" and The Descendents "Hope."


"The singular sound of Sublime, alternately polished and rough and ready, finds stoner rock, rap, punk, and hip-hop funk blended with doses of ska, rock steady, dancehall, and every other pungent flavor of reggae. The result was a beautiful, warts-and-all brand of poetry - a powerful new blend of street sounds and party music.


In Nowell, Sublime had as astounding singer and lyricist who created his own edgy but expressive underground vernacular. And in Eric Wilson and Bud Gaugh, Sublime was fortunate to have an agile, rock-solid rhythm section that could cover the entire musical waterfront." - David Wild


Sublime 40oz. To Freedom Track Listing:




1. Waiting for My Ruca
2. 40oz. to Freedom
3. Smoke Two Joints
4. We're Only Gonna Die for Our Arrogance
5. Don't Push
6. 5446 That's My Number / Ball and Chain
7. Badfish
8. Let's Go Get Stoned
9. New Thrash
10. Scarlet Begonias
11. Live at E's
12. D.J.s




1. Chica Me Tipo
2. Right Back
3. What Happened
4. New Song
5. Ebin
6. Date Rape/Rawhide
7. Hope
8. KRS-One
9. Rivers of Babylon
10. Thanx Dub


Sublime - 40oz. To Freedom Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0602547811554
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page