top of page
The 1975 - Notes on a Conditional Form Colored Vinyl 2LP

The 1975 Notes on a Conditional Form Colored Vinyl 2LP


Following 2018's A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships, The 1975's much-anticipated fourth studio effort, Notes on a Conditional Form is the second of two albums from the British band's third release cycle, Music for Cars.


Over the past six months, the band has dropped a selection of sonically-diverse singles from Notes on a Conditional Form. Released in July of 2019, "The 1975" features a spoken-word recording from Swedish climate change activist Greta Thunberg, underscored by instrumentals. On the heels of "The 1975" came the punchy, punk-infused "People," while "Frail State Of Mind," which frontman Matty Healy described as a song about anxiety, followed in October.


The two most recent singles off the album included the shoegazey "Me & You Together Song," and the twangy, "The Birthday Party."

"Every time I do a 1975 record, I kind of just go through my catalogue of music, the mental rolodex," says Healy. "And I think that Notes is an interesting record, because it has our most aggressive moments and our most tranquil moments, and they're quite harshly lined up against each other. I don't have a playlist of one type of music, so I don't consume music like that, and when I'm inspired it'll never happen twice in one genre."


On Notes On A Conditional Form, the band's family has grown to encompass new collaborators too, including actor Timothy Healy, Matty's father. "Don't Worry" was written by Healy senior when Matty was 11 and was dusted down and recorded by the band for NOACF. Elsewhere, FKA twigs and Phoebe Bridgers lend their vocals as backing textures and a duet from the latter. "It became such a personal record that there were no rules anymore," adds Healy. "Anybody who had breached the intimacy of the studio was inherently part of the record already.


The 1975 Notes on a Conditional Form Track Listing:




1. The 1975
2. People
3. The End (Music For Cars)
4. Frail State Of Mind
5. Streaming
6. The Birthday Party,
7. Yeah I Know
8. Then Because She Goes
9. Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America
10. Roadkill
11. Me & You Together Song
12. I Think There's Something You Should Know




1. Nothing Revealed / Everything Denied,
2. Tonight (I Wish I Was Your Boy)
3. Shiny Collarbone
4. If You're Too Shy (Let Me Know)
5. Playing On My Mind
6. Having No Head
7. What Should I Say
8. Bagsy Not In Net
9. Don't Worry
10. Guys

The 1975 - Notes on a Conditional Form Colored Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0602577658525
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page