top of page
The Doobie Brothers - What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits Numbered Hybrid SACD

The Doobie Brothers What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits Numbered Hybrid SACD


Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Best-Sounding Version of 1974 Classic Ever Made


Doobie Brothers’ Most Diverse Record Includes #1 Smash “Black Water”: Band’s 1974 Album Features Steely Dan Guitarist Jeff “Skunk” Baxter and Arlo Guthrie


What could the Doobie Brothers possibly do to follow-up the excellent The Captain and Me? Plenty. They started by inviting the Memphis Horns to inject more soul into their trademark, Southern-styled boogie rock. Next, they secured the services of Steely Dan virtuoso Jeff “Skunk” Baxter to supply guitar and pedal-steel parts.


And for extra spice, the band recruited Arlo Guthrie to play autoharp. The results? What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits, the group’s most diverse album to date. It’s just one reason Mobile Fidelity is proud to include the 1974 effort in its phenomenal Doobie Brothers catalog restoration series.

Of course, no record is worth its salt without sharp songwriting. Fret not.


What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits overflows with one memorable tune after another. It’s a true collective effort, with the material reflecting the musical strengths of each of the members. Picking up where the disbanded Creedence Clearwater Revival had left off, Tom Johnston contributes the rousing “Pursuit on 53rd Street” and “Down in the Track.” Patrick Simmons’ “Black Water” advances swamp rock, and gave the band its first Number One hit.


The Doobies also mine the country-rock vein like nobody’s business. “Tell Me What You Want (And I’ll Give You What You Need)” and “Another Park, Another Sunday” cross roots rhythms with edgy melodies. And the instrumental “Flying Cloud,” contributed by bassist Tiran Porter, finds the Doobies further expanding their sonic palette while remaining faithful to their loose, good-time themes.


Mobile Fidelity’s engineers had the same goals in mind when mastering this 70s rock classic from the original master tapes. And so the Doobie Brothers’ dual-drum approach now resonates with a punchiness it never previously possessed. Johnson’s high-pitched vocals no longer hit an artificial ceiling or lurk behind a veiled curtain.


The Memphis Horns’ brassy accents carry, and the all-important midrange sounds immediate, transparent, and dynamic.

We can’t guarantee that it will fill your listening room with the clouds of dry ice on the album’s iconic cover, but this numbered-edition hybrid SACD smokes! 


Doobie Brothers What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits Track Listing:


1. Song to See You Through
2. Spirit
3. Pursuit on 53rd St.
4. Black Water
5. Eyes of Silver
6. Road Angel
7. You Just Can't Stop It
8. Tell Me What You Want (And I'll Give You What You Need)
9. Down in the Track
10. Another Park, Another Sunday
11. Daughters of the Sea
12. Flying Cloud

The Doobie Brothers - What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits Numbered Hybrid SACD

SKU: 821797206068
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page