top of page
Thundercat - It Is What It Is Colored Vinyl LP

Thundercat It Is What It Is Colored Vinyl LP


2021 Grammy Award-Winner for Best Progressive R&B Album!


Thundercat's new album It Is What It Is was co-produced with Flying Lotus and features musical contributions from Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, and Zack Fox.


It Is What It Is follows his game-changing third album Drunk (2017). That record completed his transition from virtuoso bassist to bonafide star and cemented his reputation as a unique voice that transcends genre. "This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that," Bruner says about It Is What It Is.


"It's a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don't necessarily understand...some things just aren't meant to be understood."


The unruly bounce of single "Black Qualls" is classic Thundercat, teaming up with Steve Lacy (The Internet) and Funk icon Steve Arrington (Slave). It's another example of Stephen Lee Bruner's desire to highlight the lineage of his music and pay his respects to the musicians who inspired him.


Discovering Arrington's output in his late teens, Bruner says he fell in love with his music immediately: "The tone of the bass, the way his stuff feels and moves, it resonated through my whole body."


Thundercat It Is What It Is Track Listing:


1. Lost in Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole [ft. Louis Cole]
4. Black Qualls [ft. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington and Childish Gambino]
5. Miguel's Happy Dance
6. How Sway
7. Funny Thing
9. Overseas [ft. Zack Fox]
10. Dragonball Durag
11. How I Feel
12. King of the Hill
13. Unrequited Love
14. Fair Chance [ft. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B]
15. Existential Dread
16. It Is What It Is

Thundercat - It Is What It Is Colored Vinyl LP

SKU: 5054429140439
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page