top of page
Townes Van Zandt - Somebody Had to Write It Vinyl LP

Townes Van Zandt Somebody Had to Write It Vinyl LP


A re-imagined collection of Townes Van Zandt acoustic performances available on vinyl for the first time in the US, Somebody Had to Write It includes recordings of such classic songs as "If I Needed You," "Pancho & Lefty," "Waiting Round To Die," and "I'll Be Here in The Morning" (duet with Barb Donovan) among many more. An accompanying digital download also contains bonus interview tracks with KUT's Larry Monroe.


From the liner notes by Harold Eggers Jr.: "These recordings are as close to the bone of Townes as you can get. They give the listener a very unique and detailed insight into and overview of his songwriting, music, and life as no other. Townes often made light of the dark, living in the shadows more than not.


This album and Townes spoken words (bonus tracks) are significant because Townes personally chose each track, and in his own words revealed the private person and singer/songwriter/artist he was. These recordings and spoken words were very important to Townes for the world to hear his music and life story as he lived it, as told from the man himself."


"Homegrown imprint Chicken Ranch Records worked with TVZ archivist Harold Eggers Jr. for a 12-song live cull, an intimate in-ear audience with the Lone Star storytelling martyr levitating through his holy songbook, moments including a rippling "Tecumseh Valley" and lucid "Cowboy Junkie's Lament," not to mention the title track and an almost late-life Billie Holiday time-stopper in "Brand New Companion." - Austin Chronicle


Townes Van Zandt Somebody Had to Write It Track Listing:


1. Intro
2. Waiting Round To Die
3. Tecumseh Valley
4. If I Needed You
5. Pancy & Lefty
6. Blaze's Blues
7. Somebody Had To Write It
8. Marie
9. The Hole
10. Cowboy Junkies Lament
11. Brand New Compantion
12. I'll Be Here in the Morning

Townes Van Zandt - Somebody Had to Write It Vinyl LP

SKU: 0760137395218
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page